Return to the Sea: Saltworks by Motoi Yamamoto

 

Return to the Sea: Saltworks by Motoi Yamamoto

Japanese artist Motoi Yamamoto constructs intricate labyrinths, entire mountains made of salt.

Salt has always held special significance in the death rituals of Japan, and following the sudden death of his younger sister, Yamamoto channelled his grief into his maze-like installations. His works are largely improvised, yet meticulously poured, and at the end of each work, the public is invited in to destroy the work, collect the salt and return it, to the sea.

Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art

Source: emptykingdom

 

9 thoughts on “Return to the Sea: Saltworks by Motoi Yamamoto

    1. Thank you very much! for this artist and all the others! I do not have a preference, I love the installations … It’s been ten years that I rub shoulders with these artists and I like to say that my curation is of good taste. Just the dark art remains for me my predilection.
      I thank you for adding comments, at least if there has few; they are of quality!🌻

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lucero

    These photographs are beautiful. They are well constructed. Wow, I’m stunned by their ability to captivate.

    Like

Artists deserve respect. Even if it bothers you and you don't like their work; refrain from negative opinions, non-constructive remarks. Opt for an objective analysis of the work as well as a good understanding of the author's intentions..Thx